The Great 365 Days of Hats Project
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 89: Cleveland Indians 1920 World Series Champions Patch Cap

Since I began an Indians World Series theme yesterday, I thought I’d come back today with my hat commemorating Cleveland’s first (of two) World Series championships, in 1920.

Now honestly, I don’t know too much about the 1920 team.  All I know, really, is that they won the World Series… I believe against Brooklyn… and that it begat this nice patch.

New Era produced, a few years ago, a series of caps with the logos from every World Series.  The more recent ones had the newer, more corporate, generic World Series logos that aren’t specific to any team.  Just a Major League Baseball marketing graphic.  But for older World Series, they used the patches and logos put out by the winning teams.  When I was trying to decide between the 1920 and 1948 caps for the Indians, I picked this one because Chief Wahoo is nowhere to be found, and it gave me one more Indians hat without that logo.  The patch itself is kind of nondescript, but I do enjoy the interlocking CI, which would be neat to see on a cap by itself.

I wear this hat to work sometimes, because then I don’t have to worry about someone getting offended by my Chief Wahoo logos, but I just hope it’s not sending any bad mojo to the Tribe to wear souveniers of past World Series!

 

No Responses to “Day 89: Cleveland Indians 1920 World Series Champions Patch Cap”

Leave a comment