The Great 365 Days of Hats Project
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 357: Troop 104 BSA Hat

I have definitely been saving this hat for near the end of the blog, for a number of reasons.  One is that I never felt like I had much time to blog this hat and do it justice.  Secondly, it’s gross and falling apart, and I wasn’t looking forward to putting it on my head.  And finally, it has a lot of memories attached to it, and I knew it was going to be garbage when the blog was done, and I was having a hard time letting go.

This hat is an old foam/mesh style hat.  The bill and mesh back are red, with a red plastic adjustable strap.  The front is (or rather was, before it crumbled) foam with a white shell.  The words “Troop 104 BSA” are done in red flocking on the front.  I also decorated the hat with a number of pins that I got at different boy scout trips.

“BSA” is Boy Scouts of America, and Troop 104 was the troop I was in as a kid.  We were a really, really active troop, and I have lots of great memories of trips to different places.  I’m pretty sure we got these hats before the 1985 jamboree, but I obviously wore it for a long time, because there’s pins from 1988 and 1990 on there as well.  It’s funny how a hat can bring back so many memories of people you knew and places you visited and things you did.  But this hat does that in spades.  I’m going to be sad to throw it out, but glad that I at least get to save the pins.  I couldn’t have asked for a better activity to be a part of when I was a kid.

2 Responses to “Day 357: Troop 104 BSA Hat”

  1. I agree, it helped make you who you are today. It was wonderful!

  2. JAMBOREE!!!!!


Leave a Reply

